Selection confirmed

MP Andrew Bayly has been selected as National’s candidate to contest the new Port Waikato electorate at the 2020 Election.

Port Waikato replaces his current electorate of Hunua under boundary changes confirmed by the Representation Commission in April.


The new seat includes a substantial chunk of what is now the Waikato electorate. It retains Pukekohe, Waiuku, Clarks Beach, Glenbrook and Awhitu, and picks up Tuakau, Onewhero, Port Waikato, Pokeno, Maramarua, Mercer, Meremere and Te Kauwhata.

“I’m excited to be chosen to contest Port Waikato for National and I’m grateful for the support and encouragement I have received from a range of people in our communities,” Mr Bayly says.

“I’ll be working hard to get to know the people in the new electorate and to earn their trust.

“Now more than ever the people of Port Waikato need an effective National Government.

“Communities across the electorate came together during lockdown to help our most vulnerable.  Now we are about to enter a very challenging economic situation that is likely to lead to further significant job losses and financial harm. 

“Our National team has the skills, experience and capability to deal with this economic crisis.

“It’s a critical time for our employers, our farmers and our small businesses who are keen to get on and rebuild New Zealand.

“National is committed to supporting them – it will be they who will lead us through this.”